top of page

Knowing your Chakras – The Base Chakra

We often talk about balancing our chakras with Reiki, and our attunements are also linked to our seven major chakras, so we thought we would start a series of articles Knowing Your Chakras! The subject of chakras is actually very extensive, so what we aim to do here is to give you a general overview, as well as suggestions to strengthen and support each chakra.

We start off with the first chakra, the Base (or Root) Chakra. The Base Chakra, which is known as Muladhara in Sanskrit, is about survival, our basic primitive instincts, and stability. There are four petals on the symbol for Muladhara, and the number four also represents a strong foundation and stability – think of the four energies of the earth (earth, air, fire, water), the four directions, four walls, four legs on a chair, four wheels on a car. The colour for the chakra is red, and its element, earth. Located in the base of our spine, it roots the body and the soul to the earth – thus the other name for it, Root Chakra – and draws its energy from the ground.

Connected to our physical vitality and endurance, our Base Chakra nurtures our most basic needs and desires for survival. It governs our vigor, heredity, survival, security, passion, money, job and home. In our physical body, the Base Chakra rules the spinal column, kidneys, legs, feet, prostate, elimination system, immune system, and skeletal system. When our Base Chakra is healthy and balanced, we feel secure, grounded, and stable; we are able to trust and be present in the here and now. On the other hand, when our Base Chakra is unhealthy, we may feel fearful or nervous, have low self esteem, resist change, and may be very materialistic and greedy. Possible physical issues include obesity, sciatica, haemorrhoids, degenerative arthritis.

Nourishing your Base Chakra and keeping it in balance

A balanced diet, “chakracises”, and integrating the colour red into your wardrobe are some ways to keep your chakra healthy and in balance.  Below are some suggestions on what you can do:


Here are some foods that feeds the Base Chakra. The key is not to be in deficiency or over-indulgent!

  1. Root vegetables: carrots, potatoes, parsnips, radishes, beets, onions, garlic, etc.

  2. Red fruits and vegetables: red apples, tomatoes, red peppers

  3. Protein-rich foods: eggs, meats, beans, tofu, soy products, peanut butter

  4. Spices: horseradish, hot paprika, chives, cayenne, pepper


Stomp your feet upon the ground, marching, doing squats, yoga, listening to a deep beat music that moves your body like hip hop or Latin music – these are great “chakracises” for the Base Chakra. Removing your shoes and standing barefoot on sand or grass is also an effective way to ground yourself if you are feeling a little ‘flighty’.


Earthy scents like Ylang-Ylang, Rose, Cinnamon bark, Patchouli, Geranium, Sandalwood, Cedarwood


Agate, Banded (Stamina, Grounding, Love) Agate, Black (Protection, Grounding, Calming) Apache Tears (Forgiveness, Grounding, Protection) Aventurine, Red (Creativity, Balance, Prosperity) Cuprite (Altriusm, Vitality, Strength) Galena (Harmony, Balance, Grounding) Hematite (Grounding, Balancing, Detoxifying) Jasper, Striped Brown (Comforting, Centering, Grounding) Obsidian, Black (Grounding, Protecting, Healing) Onyx, Black (Protection, Encouragement, Strength) Tiger Eye, Red (Vitality, Confidence, Motivation) Tourmaline, Black (Schorl) (Protection, Grounding, Calming)

Do share with us your own tips!

photo credit: jesse.millan sweet red apples, interrupted via photopin (license)


bottom of page